Maand: oktober 2020


Arjan Habraken was awarded “Structural Engineer of the Year 2020” by VNconstructeurs, KPE Groep, Hoger Technisch Instituut, Building Holland.

The jury looked at the following 4 criteria:
• criterion 1: Innovative and appealing constructions
• criterion 2: Social relevance
• criterion 3: Contributing to and making visible the development in the field
• criterion 4: Contribution to good cooperation within project teams

“This title is for me an extra motivation to continue developing structures with efficient use of resources. As structural engineers we have a large impact on the footprint of projects and therefore should take a leading role in future developments towards circular buildings. The working field of structural engineers must expand, education must change, and research is needed to develop new innovative certified products.
I do hope our paths will cross during this trip.”


After a year of experience Tom has signed his permanent contract at SIDstudio. He graduated at the TU/e on wooden reciprocal dome structures. He made a parametric design tool that included the full engineering and production file for robotic manufacturing. He is keen to develop his skills in timber engineering and learn about digitalization from design to execution. We are very happy to have him on board.


It has been announced that Arjan Habraken of SIDstudio together with Dirk Rinze Visser of Buro Happold have been nominated for structural engineer of the year 2020. This is organised by VNconstructeurs.
On October 29, the winner will be announced by Noortje de Geus of The Hague Engineering Firm.

On that day also will be announced whether Marijn Bruurs (Witteveen+Bos) or Ferdinand van den Brink (Ballast Nedam) will win the prize for Talent of the year.